Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
FNHCB Awards
Share |

Annual Awards


Liberty Bell Award

Presented by the New Haven County Bar Association from 1966-2009, after which it was passed to the Bar Foundation, the Liberty Bell Award honors a non-lawyer or community organization who has encouraged respect for law and the courts, stimulated a sense of civic responsibility, and/or contributed to good government in the community.

Award nominations for the 2014 Liberty Bell Award are closed. Please check back for the 2015 nomination form.

Past recipients include:

1966  Kingman Brewster
1967  Dr. Frank Mongillo
1968  Charles McQueeny
1969  William Buckley, Jr.
1970  Al Capp
1971  John W. McDevitt
1972  George Herbert Walker Bush
1973  Biagio "Ben” DeLieto
1974  [Professor Roland Osterweiss]
1975  Paul Mellon
1976  Robert Saulsbury
1977  Sister Louise Anthony
1978  Rev. Edward F. Dobihal, Jr.
1979  Grace C. Bosse
1980  Philip S. Kaplan
1981  Mary B. Griswold
1982  Arvin Brown
1983  Gerald N. Tirozzi
1984  Amy L. Lettick
1985  A. Bartlett Giamatti
1986  Rev. Karl Hilgert
1987  Frances J. Consiglio
1988  Warren A. Andiman,M.D.
1989  Sandra Koorejian
1990  Imma Heiter
1991  Timothy & Kristine Blauvelt
1992  Howard A. Pearson, M.D.
1994  Timothy P. Shriver 
1996  Carmen Cozza
2000  Community Mediation, Inc.
2001  Martha J. Sullivan
2002 "The Spirit of Amistad”: Amistad America,
Amistad Academy,
City of New Haven and Yale Law School
2003  Mayor John DeStefano, Jr. & the City of New
Haven and President Richard C. Levin & Yale University
2006  Rev. Bonita Grubbs
2008  Rev. Barbara Cheney
2009  Louise Endel
2011  Laurie Harkness, Ph.D & John Leventhal, M.D.
2012  Dorsey Kendrick, Ph.D
2013  Cheryl Burack

2014  Dr. Henry Lee
2015  Anthony Rescigno

 *Not given in 1993, 1995, 1997, 1998, 1998, 1999, 2004, 2005, 2007 & 2010.


The Foundation of the New Haven County Bar Book Award

The Foundation of the New Haven County Bar ("FNHCB”) established this book award for a third or fourth year graduating law student who has made outstanding contributions to the legal community by participation in the wider community through public service. Our purpose in creating this award was to promote public service by lawyers and to stimulate such interest starting in law school.

One award is available to be given each year at each Connecticut law school. The award consists of a recently published book as well as a cash prize of $500.

2014 Book Award

Complete the following application and return it via mail or email by April 4, 2014.

2014 application form (PDF VERSION)

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal