Career Center   |   Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
Annual Awards
Share |

Yale Sappern Civility Award

The Yale Sappern Civility Award honors and recognizes a New Haven area lawyer or court staff person who exhibits and/or embodies the kind and helpful qualities found in the person and work of Yale Sappern, the Administrative Supervisor of the Family Division of the Superior Court, J.D. at New Haven from 1966 to 1997. The intent of the award is to increase and encourage civility in our courthouse and legal community.

Past recipients include:

2018 William H Clendenen

2017 Thomas Ullman

2016- Patricia Kaplan, Esq.

2015- Brad Saxton, Esq.
2014- William Sadek, Esq.
2013- Hon. Jonathan E. Silbert
2012- Kathleen Naumann
2011- Hon. John A. Keyes
2010- Gary P. Sklaver, Esq.
2009- Bernard Christianson, Esq.
2008- John A. "Jack" Dziekan, Esq.
2007- Amina Nadja Warsama Connelly, Esq.
2006- Cathleen M. Edwards, Esq.
2005- George G. Manning
2004- Ira B. Grudberg, Esq.
2003- Helen D. Murphy, Esq.
2002- Hon. Barbara A. Coppeto
2001- Roger J. Frechette, Esq.
2000- Edward J. Dolan, Esq.
1999- John R. McGrail, Esq.
1997- Hon. John N. Reynolds

To Apply:



Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award honors and recognizes a New Haven area lawyer or judge who has been in practice for at least forty years, has made outstanding contributions to the legal profession; is held in high esteem and regard by clients, colleagues, and the judiciary; and practices with the highest ethical and professional standards. 

Past recipients include: 

2018 George E. O'Brien

2017 Hon. Thomas J. Corrandino

2016- Jean Welty, Esq.

2015- Anthony Nuzzo, Jr., Esq.
2014- William H. Prout, Jr., Esq.
2013- William F. Dow III, Esq.
2012- David N. Rosen, Esq.
2011- William J. Doyle, Esq.
2010- Harold C. Donegan, Esq.
2009- Anthony M. Fitzgerald, Esq.
2008- Hon. James G. Kenefick, Jr.
2006- Hon. Ellen Bree Burns
2005- Susan W. Wolfson, Esq. (posthumously)
2004- William F. Gallagher, Esq.
2003- Hon. Robert I. Berdon
2002- Hon. Rhoda L. Loeb
2001- Jack H. Evans, Esq.
1999- Hon. Anthony V. DeMayo
1995- Howard A. Jacobs, Esq.
1994- Hon. John C. Flanagan
1993- James R. Greenfield, Esq.

To Apply:



more Calendar

NHCBA Installation of Officers 2020 2021

Committee Chair Happy Hour

Online Surveys
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal